Walter Neubauer
Geigenbaumeister
violins
Tradition
Portrait photo of Walter Neubauer
Walter Neubauer

Born in Vienna, on the 12th of Juli 1962, as son of violinmaker Gerhard Neubauer my career path was already predefined.

After attending a business education for three years, I started my apprenticeship in the Viennese workshop of violinmaker Anton Jirowsky III. in 1980.

In 1984 my time as a journeyman started in the workshop of my father, violinmaker Gerhard Neubauer, which prepared me for the successful completion of the Viennese examination for master craftsman's diploma in 1989.

Afterwards I was employed as the general manager of my father's shop, responsible for the workshop and account management.

Since July 1997 I have taken over the traditional Viennese workshop of my former apprenticeship-master, violinmaker Anton Jirowsky III., located in Vienna, Lothringerstraße 11, as a self-employed violinmaker.

The Viennese Zach & Jirowsky School since 1870

As the successor of A. Jirowsky III. and his Viennese master workshop that has existed for over three generations, it is particularly important to me to continue the long tradition of the Viennese Zach & Jirowsky School. I would like to introduce the masters of this school below.

Anton Jirowsky III. (1937 - 2000)

Anton Jirowsky III., son of A. Jirowsky II., born on August 27, 1937 in Vienna was an apprentice of Hans Jirowksy and Adolf Stübiger. In 1958 he took over the workshop from his mother, who, after the death of his father, continued it with Adolf Stübiger as general manager.

In 1978 he moved the workshop to the current address, Lothringerstraße 11. He worked in the business until mid-1997 before handing over the workshop to his former apprentice Walter Neubauer. His sudden and unexpected death in 2000 will be remembered by many. His apprentices: Johann Krumpöck, Peter Tunkowitsch, Walter Neubauer, Fritz Jirowsky.

Inspired by Stradivari and Guarneri, he built about 50 string instruments, including several violas and two cellos, often with orange-brown oil varnish. His work in new buildings and repairs, as well as being an officially appointed expert for old stringed instruments, was greatly appreciated by colleagues and customers at home and abroad.

Anton Jirowsky II. (1904 - 1951)

The son of A. Jirowsky I., born on April 29, 1904 in Vienna, worked as an apprentice and journeyman in his father's workshop. After the death of his father, he continued the workshop until his own death in 1951.

He continued to build his instruments according to the Stradivari and Guarneri models, influenced by the Zach School with dark red and orange-brown oil paints. He built about 30 violins and several guitars.

Anton Jirowsky I. (1877 - 1941)

Born on August 5, 1877 in Vienna, he is the founder of this workshop. As an apprentice of Carl Zach from 1889 to 1894, he continued the Vienna Zach School and worked as a journeyman for k.u.k. imperial violinmaker Karl Haudek from 1898 to 1903. From 1903 until his death in 1941, he ran the workshop at Lothringerstraße 16.

He built his instruments mainly inspired by Stradivari models, which were mostly varnished reddish brown, often showed black painted snail edges and impressed by a very good wood quality. In addition, he made numerous guitars and was valued as a repairer. He also participated in many exhibitions, where he received several medals. A. Jirowsky I. built about 300 violins, 20 violas and 10 cellos.

Carl Zach (1859 - 1918)

Son of Thomas Zach, born March 30, 1859 in Budapest. From 1872 to 1874 he attended the conservatory (major in violin) in Vienna. Where he did his apprenticeship as a violinmaker is not known. He was a companion in his father's business until 1887 and continued to do so on his own account from 1888. The business initially had a very good reputation and fairly large sales. Carl Zach had the title of a royal Greek court supplier and founded a limited partnership in 1897 that was to exploit two of his inventions. However, the founding of the company, together with his lavish lifestyle, deprived him of all his assets the following year. After stays in Brussels in 1902 and other European cities as a bar violinist, his further life up until his death in London in 1918 is unknown.

He built his instruments mainly inspired by Stradivari models with relatively flat curvatures and orange-brown to reddish-brown varnish. The snails are often black edged. He owes his great name recognition to his carved portrait snails, which can still be admired in the collection of old musical instruments of the Kunsthistorisches Museum Vienna.

In 1884 he honored the brothers Hans and Josef Schrammel with two violins, each with a carved portrait head instead of the snail. In 1891 he also worshiped the violinists of the Grinzinger Quartet Steher and Reisinger two instruments. On the basis of orders, violins were delivered to Queen Victoria of England and to King George I. of Greece in 1892. Furthermore, on the occasion of the Vienna International Theater and Music Exhibition in the same year, he personally presented a violin to Emperor Franz Josef I. of Austria that was dedicated to him. In addition to the carved portrait of the emperor, this instrument bears the following inscription on the sides instead of the snail: FROM ALL STRINGS THE MELODY SOUND IN ALL HEARTS. FRANZ JOSEF I. GOT GOD. As the builder of the so-called Schrammel violins and the Emperor violin, Carl Zach will remain known not only in Vienna, but also beyond specialist circles.

Since he employed a large number of employees, from 1896 many instruments in various qualities emerged that cannot be compared with his own work.

Thomas Zach (1812- 1892)

Born on October 25, 1812 in Male-Zihany / CSSR, died on January 1, 1892 in Vienna. He is the founder of the Viennese Zach School, which can be followed up to today. Initially working as a miller, he later became an apprentice of the violinmakers Johann Baptist Dvorak and Anton Sitt in Prague. He then worked for Johann Baptist Schweitzer in Budapest and eventually became his business successor around 1853. After 13 years, he sold the violin making workshop. In the meantime he owned his own coffee house, but came to Vienna after various places of residence, including Bucharest in 1866, around 1870. In 1888 he handed over the business to his son Carl Zach at Kärntnerstraße No. 34, in the 1st district of Vienna.

He built his instruments mainly inspired by Stradivari and Guarneri models. His precise work and the good wood and varnish quality of his instruments gave him a very good reputation as a violinmaker, not only in Vienna. At the World Exhibition in Vienna in 1873, he received several medals for the instruments he exhibited. In 1889 he delivered instruments to the Boston Symphony Orchestra. His instruments are in high demand today at home and abroad and are highly valued.

Walter Neubauer
Geigenbaumeister
violins
Tradition
Portrait Foto von Walter Neubauer
Walter Neubauer

Geboren am 12. Juli 1962 in Wien, als Sohn von Geigenbaumeister Gerhard Neubauer ist meine berufliche Laufbahn bereits vorgegeben.

Nach Absolvierung einer 3-jährigen kaufmännischen Schulausbildung, beginne ich 1980 meine Geigenbaulehre in der Werkstätte von Geigenbaumeister Anton Jirowsky III., in Wien.

Meine Gesellenzeit verbringe ich ab 1984 in der Werkstätte meines Vaters Geigenbaumeister Gerhard Neubauer in Wien. 1989 absolviere ich erfolgreich die Geigenbau-Meisterprüfung in Wien.

Danach bin ich bis Juni 1997 als Geschäftsführer im Unternehmen meines Vaters sowohl in der Werkstätte als auch in der Kundenbetreuung tätig.

Seit Juli 1997 habe ich die traditionsreiche Wiener Werkstätte meines Lehrmeisters Geigenbaumeister Anton Jirowsky III., als selbstständiger Geigenbaumeister übernommen.

Die Wiener Zach & Jirowsky Schule seit 1870

Als Schüler und Nachfolger von Anton Jirowsky III., einer seit über 3 Generationen bestehenden Meisterwerkstätte, ist es mir ein besonderes Anliegen die langjährige Tradition der Wiener Zach & Jirowsky Schule weiterzuführen. Im Folgenden würde ich Ihnen gerne die Meister dieser Schulen vorstellen.

Anton Jirowsky III. (1937 - 2000)

Anton Jirowsky III., Sohn von A. Jirowsky II., geboren am 27. August 1937 in Wien war Schüler von Hans Jirowksy und Adolf Stübiger. Er übernahm 1958 die Werkstätte von seiner Mutter, die nach dem Ableben seines Vaters diese mit Adolf Stübiger als Geschäftsführer weiterführte.

1978 übersiedelte er die Werkstätte an die jetzige Adresse, Lothringerstraße 11. Im Geschäft war er bis Mitte 1997 tätig, um dann seinem ehemaligen Schüler Walter Neubauer die Werkstätte zu übergeben. Sein plötzliches und unerwartetes Ableben im Jahr 2000 wird Vielen in Erinnerung bleiben. Seine Schüler: Johann Krumpöck, Peter Tunkowitsch, Walter Neubauer, Fritz Jirowsky.

Seine Instrumente baute er nach Stradivari und Guarneri, oft mit orangebraunen Öllacken versehen. Ungefähr 50 Streichinstrumente wurden von ihm hergestellt, davon mehrere Violen und zwei Celli. Seine Tätigkeiten im Neubau und in der Reparatur, sowie als Sachverständiger von alten Streichinstrumenten wurde von den Kollegen und Kunden im In- und Ausland sehr geschätzt.

Anton Jirowsky II. (1904 - 1951)

Sohn von A. Jirowsky I., geboren am 29. April 1904 in Wien, war als Lehrling und Geselle in der väterlichen Werkstätte tätig. Nach dem Ableben seines Vaters führte er die Werkstätte bis zu seinem eigenen Tode im Jahr 1951 weiter.

Seine Instrumente baute er nach Stradivari und Guarneri Modelle weiterhin von der Zach-Schule beeinflußt, dunkelrote und orange-braune Öllacke. Er baute ca. 30 Violinen und mehrere Gitarren.

Anton Jirowsky I. (1877 - 1941)

Geboren am 5. August 1877 in Wien, ist er der Gründer dieser Werkstätte. Als Schüler von Carl Zach von 1889 bis 1894 trug er die Wiener Zach Schule weiter. Als Geselle war er beim k.u.k. Hofgeigenmacher Karl Haudek von 1898 bis 1903 tätig. Von 1903 bis zu seinem Tode im Jahr 1941 betreibt er die Werkstätte in der Lothringerstraße Nr. 16.

Seine Instrumente baute er vorwiegend nach Stradivari Modellen die meist rötlichbraun lackiert waren und durch eine sehr gute Holzqualität beeindruckten. Die Schnecken wurden von ihm oft Schwarz randriert. Er fertigte auch zahlreiche Gitarren und war als Reparateur geschätzt. Weiters beteiligte er sich an vielen Ausstellungen, wo er mehrere Medaillen erhielt. Er baute ca. 300 Violinen, 20 Violen und 10 Celli.

Carl Zach (1859 - 1918)

Sohn von Thomas Zach, geboren am 30. März 1859 in Budapest. In Wien besuchte er von 1872 bis 1874 das Konservatorium (Hauptfach Violine). Wo er seine Lehre als Geigenbauer absolvierte ist nicht bekannt. Bis 1887 ist er Kompagnon im väterlichen Geschäft und führte dieses ab 1888 auf eigene Rechnung weiter. Das Geschäft hatte anfangs einen sehr guten Ruf und einen ziemlich großen Absatz. Carl Zach besaß den Titel eines königlich griechischen Hoflieferanten und gründete 1897 eine Kommanditgesellschaft die zwei von ihm patentierte Erfindungen verwerten sollte. Jedoch brachten ihn diese Firmengründung zusammen mit seinem aufwendigen Lebensstil im darauffolgenden Jahr um sein gesamtes Vermögen. Nach Aufenthalten in Brüssel im Jahr 1902 und weiteren Europäischen Städten als Bargeiger, ist sein weiterer Lebensweg bis zu seinem Ableben 1918 in London nicht bekannt.

Seine Instrumente baute er vorwiegend nach Stradivari Modellen mit relativ flachen Wölbungen und orangebraunen bis rötlichbraunen Lackierungen. Die Schnecken sind des öfteren Schwarz randriert. Seinen großen Bekanntheitsgrad hat er vor allem seinen geschnitzten Porträt-Schnecken zu verdanken, die man noch heute in der Sammlung alter Musikinstrumente des Kunsthistorischen Museums Wien bewundern kann.

Im Jahr 1884 verehrte er den Brüdern Hans und Josef Schrammel zwei Violinen, die jeweils mit einem geschnitzen Porträtkopf anstatt der Schnecke versehen waren. 1891 verehrte er auch den Geigern des Grinzinger Quartetts Steher und Reisinger zwei Instrumente. Auf Grund von Bestellungen lieferte Violinen an die Königin Victoria von England, und an den König Georg I. von Griechenland im Jahr 1892. Außerdem, anlässlich der Internationalen Wiener Theater und Musik Ausstellung im selben Jahr, überreichte er Kaiser Franz Josef I von Österreich persönlich eine ihm gewidmete Violine. Dieses Instrument trägt außer dem geschnitzten Kaiserporträt anstelle der Schnecke noch folgende Inschrift an den Zargen: AUS ALLEN SAITEN KLINGT IN ALLE HERZEN DIE MELODIE DIE ALTE. FRANZ JOSEF I. GOTT ERHALTE. Als Erbauer der sogenannten Schrammel-Geigen und der Kaisergeige wird Carl Zach nicht nur in Wien, über Fachkreise hinaus, vielen ein Begriff bleiben.

Da er viele Mitarbeiter beschäftigte, entstanden ab 1896 viele Instrumente in den unterschiedlichsten Qualitäten, die nicht mit seinen eigenen Arbeiten zu vergleichen sind.

Thomas Zach (1812- 1892)

Geboren am 25. Oktober 1812 in Male-Zihany/CSSR, gestorben am 1. Jänner 1892 in Wien. Er ist der Gründer der Wiener Zach Schule, die sich bis in unsere heutige Zeit weiter verfolgen läßt. Anfänglich als Müllergeselle tätig wurde er später Schüler von den Geigenbauern Johann Baptist Dvorak und Anton Sitt in Prag. Anschließend arbeitete er bei Johann Baptist Schweitzer in Budapest und wurde schließlich um 1853 sein Geschäftsnachfolger. Nach 13 Jahren verkauft er die Geigenbauwerkstätte. Er besaß zwischenzeitlich ein eigenes Kaffeehaus, aber kam nach verschiedenen Aufenthaltsorten, unter anderem auch 1866 in Bukarest, um 1870 nach Wien. Im Jahr 1888 übergab er seinem Sohn Carl Zach das Geschäft in Wien auf der Kärntnerstraße Nr. 34, im 1. Bezirk.

Seine Instrumente baute er vorwiegend nach Stradivari und Guarneri Modellen. Seine genaue Arbeit, und die gute Holz-und Lackqualitäten seiner Instrumente verschafften ihm, nicht nur in Wien einen sehr guten Ruf als Geigenbauer. Bei der Weltausstellung 1873 in Wien erhielt er mehrere Medaillen für seine ausgestellten Instrumente. 1889 lieferte er Instrumente an das Symphonieorchester in Boston. Seine Instrumente sind heutzutage im In-und Ausland sehr gefragt und werden sehr geschätzt.